August Wilson’s Century Cycle

August Wilson (1945-2005) was born in Pittsburgh. His “Pittsburgh Cycle” is a collection of 10 plays that capture the triumph, the despair, and the unbridled energy that he experienced in the Black community in the Pittsburgh area.

Gem of the Ocean1900s2003
Joe Turner’s Come and Gone1910s1988
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom1920s1984
The Piano Lesson1930s1990
Seven Guitars1940s1995
Two Trains Running1960s1991
King Hedley II1980s1999
Radio Golf1990s2005